Posted by: leish79 | March 17, 2013

My experience of searching the library databases

confused image'My return to studying and subsequently searching library databases has mirrored many others who have already provided feedback to this question. Where do I start and what am I looking for?

The instructions provided by the lecturers was a great start to my reintroduction to academia, however the sheer volume of databases available and the number of articles returned when I hit the search button was enough to make me swoon. Exactly how am I going to narrow down all of this information into a manageable amount of reading?

The process of searching for your terms of reference appears easy enough but the ability to critically analyse the results, that’s the challenging part. Whilst I critically analyse and reflect on a daily basis in my current employment, the sources of information available to me during the day are vastly limited when compared with the journal articles available to me by night!

Whilst it is an exciting prospect to venture back into the world of study and the hope that at the end of the course I may live the dream of becoming a teacher librarian, the road to get there suddenly a daunting task and I am madly trying to remember how I handled all of this at the tender age of 18!

I look forward to tips and advice posted by my fellow students along with the lecturers to help me along!

Leave a Reply

Categories

From the Little Things ...

Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.

that librarian is wearing the coolest glasses!

INF506 - A log of lovely learning

A Maze of Discoveries

My reflections during MEdTL course

The Role of the Teacher Librarian

A space to articulate my thoughts and developing understandings of the role of the teacher librarian in ETL401

